How do I handle inventory in multiple locations in inFlow Cloud?

Please note this is only available on select plans or add-ons.

Windows

This article covers the following two sections:

Creating, using, and removing multiple locations

To set up a new location:

  1. Open the Settings window (either through the shortcut from homepage, or Main Menu > Options > Settings)
  2. In the Company tab, scroll down until you see the Manage Inventory Locations button.
  3. In this window, add your locations to the list (each on its own line) until you are satisfied.
  4. Click Save & Close.

To transfer items between locations:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Inventory > Transfer Stock.
  2. Choose the From Location and the To Location for the item you are transferring.
  3. Select the items you’d like to transfer or click Add by Location to add all the items at the chosen From Location.
  4. Add any remarks you have to the bottom and when you’re ready, click Send Transfer.
  5. When the physical transfer is finished, click Receive Transfer.

NOTE: If you need to transfer items from different locations you’ll have to create separate transfer sheets for each location. 

To remove locations:

You can deactivate locations you no longer use. You’ll need to make sure to transfer stock out of that location before removing. Any locations with more than 0 stock in it will still show up even after they’ve been deactivated.

  1. Make sure you’ve transferred all existing stock out of that location first.
  2. Go to Main Menu > Options > Settings.
  3. Click the Manage Inventory Locations button.
  4. Select the Location you wish to remove and then press the “-” icon along the bottom of the table.
  5. Click Save & Close.

To reactivate locations:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Options > Settings.
  2. Click the Manage Inventory Locations button.
  3. Check the Show Inactive box in the bottom left corner of this window.
  4. Check the box in the Active column beside the location you want to reactivate.
  5. Click Save & Close.

To use sublocations:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Options > Settings.
  2. In the Company Tab, click the Locations broken down by sublocations button.
  3. Click Manage inventory location to get a new pop up window.
  4. Choose the location you want to add the sublocation and click edit sublocation.
  5. Click Save and Close.

NOTE: If you want to stop using sublocations in the future, you’ll need to transfer everything from those sublocations to your main locations first. If this step is missed the stock will stay in those sublocations but you will no longer be able to tell. This can cause trouble with future stock transfers.

Why are there different “default locations” in inFlow?

There are several places for default location, and this is designed to minimize manually selecting locations in inFlow when you move an item.

System Default

inFlow’s system default location is a global setting, but it can be overridden by other settings. If you only have a system default setting, any time an item goes in or out of your inventory, it will use the system default.

To set the system default location:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Options > Settings.
  2. Click Manage Inventory Locations and click the star beside the location you want to set as default.
  3. If you only have one location in the program, it is automatically set as your system default.

User default location

This option allows you to set up a default location for your users.  As an example, you may have users who work out of your retail store in Location A, and other users in another branch at Location B.

Setting the default for each user allows the location to be automatically chosen on sales or purchase order they create. Editing existing entries will not affect the locations chosen in the past.

To set the user default location:

  1. Check the bottom right of inFlow to make sure you are logged in to the correct user.
  2. Go to Main Menu > Options > Personal Settings.
  3. Set the Default Location under Preferences.
  4. You can go to Main Menu > General > Change User and repeat steps 1-3 for other users.

Customer default location

Each customer can have a default location, this serves to select that location automatically on the sales order when you select that customer.

To set the customer default location:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Sales > Customer List.
  2. Double-click on the customer you want to set a default location for.
  3. Click the Extra Info tab at the bottom.
  4. Set the Default Location at the top.

Sales order locations always override product defaults and user defaults.

Web

inFlow Cloud can help you track inventory in multiple locations!

This article covers the following two sections:

Creating, using, and removing multiple locations

To set up a new location:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Options.
  2. Click on the Company Settings tab.
  3. Under the Locations heading click on the Manage locations button.
  4. To add a new location click the +Add location link, and enter the location name to the black field that pops up.
  5. Click the Save button when done.

You can also use sublocations by putting a checkmark next to the Break locations down into sublocations setting on the Locations window.

NOTE: If you want to stop using sublocations in the future, you’ll need to transfer everything from those sublocations to your main locations first. If this step is missed the stock will stay in those sublocations but you will no longer be able to tell. This can cause trouble with future stock transfers.

To remove locations:

  1. Make sure there is no existing stock in the location you’ll be removing.  Go to Main Menu > Options.
  2. Click the Company settings tab.
  3. Click the Manage locations button.
  4. Press “X” next the location you want to remove.
  5. When done, click Save.

NOTE: You’ll need to make sure to transfer stock out of that location before removing. Any locations with more than 0 stock in it will still show up even after they’ve been deactivated.

To reactivate locations:

  1. Click Main Menu > Options.
  2. Click the Company settings tab.
  3. Click the Manage locations button.
  4. click on the Show inactive toggle to view the deactivated.
  5. When done, click Save.
  6. Click the “+” icon next to the location you want to reactivate.
  7. Click Save. 

Why are there different “default locations” in inFlow?

There are several places for default location, and this is designed to minimize manually selecting locations in inFlow when you move an item.

System Default

inFlow’s system default location is a global setting, but it can be overridden by other settings. If you only have a system default setting, any time an item goes in or out of your inventory, it will use the system default.

To set the system default location:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Options > Company settings tab.
  2. Under the Locations heading, click the Manage Locations button.
  3. Click the star beside the location you want to set as your default. If you only have one location in the program, it is automatically set as your system default.

Team member default location

Each team member using inFlow Cloud can also set their own default locations.   As an example, you may have team members who work out of your retail store in Location A, and other users in another branch at Location B.

Setting the default for each team member allows the location to be automatically chosen on sales or purchase order they create. Editing existing entries will not affect the locations chosen in the past.

To set the team member default location:

  1. Check the top right of inFlow to make sure you are logged in to the correct user account.
  2. Go to Main Menu > Options > Personal.
  3. Under the Personal defaults heading, click the Edit personal defaults button.
  4. Select the Default location drop down to pick the desired location.

Customer default location

Each customer can have a default location, this serves to select that location automatically on the sales order when you select that customer.

To set the customer default location:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Customer List (Under the Sales heading).
  2. Double-click on the customer you want to set a default location for.
  3. Scroll down to the Preferences section, and set the Location in the drop down menu.

Sales order locations always override product defaults and user defaults.

Was this article helpful?

Yes
No

Thank you for your input, your feedback is important to us.

Thank you for your input, your feedback is important to us.  Please share some more information about why you find this article unhelpful.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.