How do I handle inventory in multiple locations in inFlow On-Premise?

inFlow On-Premise can help you track inventory in multiple locations!

This article covers the following two sections:

Creating, using, and removing multiple locations

To set up a new location:

  1. Open the Settings window (either through the shortcut from homepage, or Main Menu > Options > Settings)
  2. Scroll down until you see the Manage Inventory Locations button.
  3. In this window, add your locations to the list (each on its own line) until you are satisfied.
  4. Click Save & Close.

To transfer items between locations:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Inventory > Transfer Stock.
  2. Select the items you’d like to transfer. If you need to transfer all items in a single location, use the Add by Location button at the bottom to save time.
  3. Select the To Location for each item.

    TIP: If all the items you’ve selected are going to the same location, right-click on the first cell under To Location and select Fill Down to copy that location to each of the rows below.

  4. Click Send Transfer.
  5. When the items have arrived at the location, click Receive Transfer.

To remove locations:

You can deactivate locations you no longer use. You’ll need to make sure to transfer stock out of that location before removing. Any locations with more than 0 stock in it will still show up even after they’ve been deactivated.

  1. Make sure you’ve transferred all existing stock out of that location first.
  2. Go to Main Menu > Options > Settings.
  3. Click the Manage Inventory Locations button.
  4. Select the Location you wish to remove and then press the “-” icon along the bottom of the table.
  5. Click Save & Close.

To reactivate locations:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Options > Settings.
  2. Click the Manage Inventory Locations button.
  3. Check the Show Inactive box in the bottom left corner of this window.
  4. Check the box in the Active column beside the location you want to reactivate.
  5. Click Save & Close.

Why are there different “default locations” in inFlow?

There are several places for default location, and this is designed to minimize manually selecting locations in inFlow when you move an item.

System Default

inFlow’s system default location is a global setting, but it can be overridden by other settings. If you only have a system default setting, any time an item goes in or out of your inventory, it will use the system default.

To set the system default location:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Options > Settings.
  2. Click Manage Inventory Locations and click the star beside the location you want to set as default.
  3. If you only have one location in the program, it is automatically set as your system default.

Product default location

This setting is per-product, and it overrides the system default location. For example, if you’ve set “Main Warehouse” as the product default location for “Item ABC”,  then any inventory movement for “Item ABC” will use the product default instead of the system.

To set a product default location:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Inventory > Product List.
  2. Double-click on the item you want to set a default location for.
  3. Click the Extra Info tab at the bottom.
  4. Set the Default Location at the top.

Product default locations can be overridden by sales order locations.

User default location

This option allows you to set up a default location for your users.  As an example, you may have users who work out of your retail store in Location A, and other users in another branch at Location B.

Setting the default for each user allows the location to be automatically chosen on sales or purchase order they create. Editing existing entries will not affect the locations chosen in the past.

To set the user default location:

  1. Check the bottom right of inFlow to make sure you are logged in to the correct user.
  2. Go to Main Menu > Options > Personal Settings.
  3. Set the Default Location under Preferences.
  4. You can go to Main Menu > General > Change User and repeat steps 1-3 for other users.

Customer default location

Each customer can have a default location, this serves to select that location automatically on the sales order when you select that customer.

To set the customer default location:

  1. Go to Main Menu > Sales > Customer List.
  2. Double-click on the customer you want to set a default location for.
  3. Click the Extra Info tab at the bottom.
  4. Set the Default Location at the top.

Sales order locations always override product defaults and user defaults.

  • Did this article help? If not, please let us know so we can improve it.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.